Takaotubo – The Derivation of Everything


Preview Track: Fireworks

The derivation of everything. is the fourth and latest album from Jakarta-based pop project Takaotubo. All of the instrumentals, lyrics, and themes present in the album are orchestrated by Adolf Bernardinus, the man behind Takaotubo, with a little help from his friends. This album could be seen as the next step in the evolution and maturing of Takaotubo’s music, both in terms of songwriting and production. The derivation of everything. deploys a more wide-ranging palette of sounds and styles compared to prior releases. Evident in singles such as Downfall and Black Dog, with both of those songs being inspired by alternative rock circulating in the early 2010s, leading to Stay, which shows an affinity for this one-man project’s skill in creating ballads that do not shy away from grandiose instrumentation, being armed with a string arrangement and all, without discarding Takaotubo’s distinct lyrical and musical style. Stay is also featured in the film soundtrack of Dan Bahagia directed by Kurnia Alexander. The song Lullaby, which features a slow but steady pace with heart-on-sleeve lyrics, also appears in another film’s soundtrack, adding to the grit of Bootlegging My Way Into Hell directed by Ry woyzeck (Azzam Fi Rullah).

Clocking in at a compact length, Takaotubo packs The derivation of everything. with his most meticulous music production thus far, making the most of its runtime with dense musical and lyrical content. Boasting an array of features from friends who just so happen to be musicians as well, Takaotubo’s fourth album is his most expansive yet, while also continuing themes from past releases that address feelings of grief, despair, melancholia, and everything in between.

B-sides and booklet available exclusively on The Store Front. 

SKU: NW453 Categories: ,



  1. ..remember?
  2. Black Dog
  3. Restless (feat. Matisuri)
  4. Downfall (feat. Farrel Arifin & Nabyl Chataby)
  5. Lullaby (feat. Nabyl Chataby)
  6. Once I Knew
  7. Stay (feat. Nelvson)
  8. Fireworks
  9. I will always..

Includes: Digital download in 320kbps MP3 and .WAV format by request to info@noisewhore.com