Tesla Manaf – Rembah Pribumi


With the release of Tesla Manaf’s latest offering, the young and gifted Indonesian guitarist delivers on his main goal as a musician — “to convert spoken words into notes”.
Tesla’s guitar work pairs the string texture and physicality of Andres Segovia and Django Reinhardt, with the phrasing and pacing of Ralph Towner and Pat Metheny, through to the present compositional ebbs and flows of Mary Halvorson and Gilad Hekselman. Mind you, these are merely scrap-book points of reference — the end result is extremely original, fresh and inspiring. There is at work here a youthful and enthusiastic sense of risk-taking which is most revealing and rewarding listen after listen.
His unique approach to modern composition assures that you won’t necessarily find the traditional song elements of verse, chorus, solo, bridge or refrain and, if you do, they very likely will not occupy the accepted position or possess the interrelationship you have come to expect. This “turning on its head” approach composition, along with each player’s technique and choice of instrument tone color, gives great impact to the experience of listening deeply to each track.

This music is all about movement – you find yourself taking the journey. Your route is paved with gorgeous arpeggiated guitar lines intertwined with sinuous dancing clarinet and fueled by subtle yet insistent basslines with the most delicate use of drumkit. Midstream reflection of this musical experience is granted through the equally composed use of silence and pause. The effortless performance of these idiosyncratic songs belies their complexity.

Music Composed and Arranged by Tesla Manaf
Executive Producer by Abram Christopher Sinaga
Produced by Tesla Manaf
Mastered by Bob Nanda

Guitar and Percussion by Tesla Manaf
Cello by Achmad Kurnia
Piano and Soundscape by Ardi Aprillian
Voices by Dhea Febrina
Clarinet by Hulhul
Cymbals and Mallet by Desal Sembada

Music Scoring based on Motion Picture titled Rembah Pribumi by Gracia Tobing

SKU: NW242 Category: Tag:



  1. Kanaya
  2. Maya
  3. Simka
  4. Rembah Pribumi
  5. Ufuk Timur

Includes: MP3 Download 320kbps.